Instead of Chess

So Dave and I crept into our six-month old daughter’s room on Friday night at about 10 o’clock, and stood next to her crib, giggling like a couple of adolescents high on Pop Rocks.

“She’s so cute – let’s play with her,” I stage-whispered.

“But, she’s sleeping,” my husband countered.

->Three-second pause in which both of us tried our darndest to act like parents<-

 Then he grinned. “Ok!”

So we proceeded to shuffle our feet and clear our throats until our poor sweet child woke up, staring up at us like the couple of crazies that we are, and let us hold her until she fell back asleep again only a short while later.

“Maybe we should take up chess, or something,” Dave joked when we were back on the couch later. “We should probably have a hobby other than waking up our kid to play with her when we miss her.”

Nah.

With a face like this in the house, who needs sleep? (Ok, me - I do).

With a face like this in the house, who needs sleep? (Ok, me – I do).

4 thoughts on “Instead of Chess

Leave a comment